According to Google definitions, to search means "to try to find by looking...thoroughly." To research means "to investigate systematically."
Remember, when you are asked to write a research paper, you are not being asked to gather facts, but to choose a topic that you can investigate systematically.
Search the Library's Databases
Feel free to use the following library databases to find out more about your topic. If you would prefer to use a different database, try using our Research Guides by subject list.
- Library Search This link opens in a new windowLibrary Search is the main library search engine that will search all of the databases that we have.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full text database containing nearly 5,700 journals, this scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Database Searching
Did you get too many results? If so, try some of these ideas to narrow down your results:
-
Narrow by dates (only newer, older, or a specific range of dates)
-
Narrow by type of source (peer-reviewed journals, magazines, etc. based on the assignment’s guidelines)
-
Add another of the search terms you listed above, connecting the two with the “AND” provided in the database’s Advanced Search
-
Using the database’s Advanced Search option, change “AND” to “NOT” to exclude terms you don’t want (ex. “Pride and Prejudice” NOT film)
-
Put any multi-word phrases into “quotation marks” to prevent other words from coming between them
Did you get too few results? If so, try some of these ideas to expand your results:
-
Using the database’s Advanced Search, enter 2 search terms that are synonyms, connecting them with the word “or” (ex. film OR movie)
-
Enter your main topic in a Subject Search. Look at the subdivisions or subjects given to you to get new ideas for better search terms (find out what the database is calling it)
- Basic Search Tips Help SheetThis is an optional worksheet that will remind you of the searching tips the library research session taught you.
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/eng112