Search a specific database for articles.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive database for psychology and related disciplines. Includes content from PyscARTICLES and PsycCRITIQUES. Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 25 languages. 1887- current.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Largest full text database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers full text access to over 200 peer-reviewed journals covering scientific, medical, and technical information. Includes arts & humanities, and social sciences.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database containing nearly 5,700 journals, this scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Provided by SUNYConnect. - Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage in criminology and related disciplines.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our largest education database. Contains content relevant to theory and practice. - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major database for research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and much more. Includes content from the free online database PubMed. - Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOur best Social Work database. Contains indexing and abstracting from social work, social welfare and other related journals from 1965 to the present. It covers topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and much more.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowA research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about each test and its development and administration.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowContains full-text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. All entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. Coverage is from 1985 (Volume 9) to the present.
Researching in the PsycINFO Database video
Relevant Resources for Psychology
- American Psychological Associationofficial website of the APA
- Dictionary of Psycholological Termsfrom the APA
Items in Drake Library
The Library Catalog searches books, videos, course reserves, and more. Most of these items are located in Drake.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2000ISBN: 0890425558Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2024 12:47 PM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/psychology
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/psychology
