Skip to Main Content

KSSPE Research Tutorial

A guide to help you learn how to do research for KSSPE assignments

2. Peer-reviewed articles

What is a Peer Reviewed Article?

A peer-reviewed article is one that has been reviewed by a body of “peers:” experts in the same field as the writer. 

They are sometimes called “refereed” and are published in peer-reviewed (sometimes called academic or scholarly) journals.

When in doubt, ask your professor as they are the experts in their fields.

How to tell if an article is peer-reviewed

Comparison of Article Types
Criteria Peer-Reviewed / Scholarly Popular / General
Length or Appearance of Source

Lengthy, in depth. Often includes tables, graphs, statistics.

Serious appearance, not heavily graphic.

Generally includes abstract and citation list.

Purpose of the articles is usually to present original research or experiments.

Shorter, overview-type articles. Popular style.

Does not usually include abstract or citation list.

Includes many advertisements aimed at a general audience.

Purpose of the articles is more to entertain.
Author or Editor

Scholars, experts.

Credentials often included (PhD, MD, MPH, etc.)

Peer reviewed, refereed or juried: critically evaluated by a knowledge panel of experts.

Reporters, staff writers.

Credentials not usually included.

Reviewed by the editorial staff, not subject experts.

Articles are sometimes unsigned.
Title Includes words like: review, journal, research, quarterly, studies, transactions, proceedings, archives. Often includes the word magazine.
Language Technical, likely to include the jargon of the field. Assumes some background knowledge from the reader. Non-technical, accessible by broad audience
Article Structure Traditional structure usually requires: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, references  No specific structure.
Audience Professors, researchers, professionals, experts, students; people who are already interested in the topic. General public, trying to attract an audience.
Examples

Photo of Journal of the American Medical Association          The Political Quarterly 

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)

The Political Quarterly

Photo of National Geographic MagazinePhoto of Time Magazine

National Geographic

Time Magazine

 

Check the database's information

Some databases will tell you if the article is in a peer-reviewed journal. 

  • Click on the article title to see more information about the article.
  • Click on the Journal title
    • In some databases you will see more information about the journal, including if it is peer reviewed.
    • In other databases, clicking on the journal title runs a search for all articles published in that title.

Journal Title Information:

Searching for peer-reviewed article

Many databases give you the option to search for only peer reviewed items.  

For example: 

  • Enter your search terms (keywords)
  • Click on the box beside Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2022 7:33 PM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/KSSPEresearch

Video about scholarly, trade, and popular articles

View this video for more detailed information about scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.  He also mentions trade journals, a category in-between popular and scholarly.