Skip to Main Content

KSSPE Research Tutorial

A guide to help you learn how to do research for KSSPE assignments

4. Databases

Selecting and Using Databases

Use databases to find articles

You can use the library's databases to find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, and other relevant sources. 

  • You can search SportDISCUS, the premier database for research in KSSPE.
  • You can also click on the other tabs to search databases specific to your need, whether your topic is related to medical or business or education issues. 
  • See the video below for more about the databases, and how to search two key databases, SportDISCUS and Academic Search Complete.

Databases for KSSPE

 

Overview of KSSPE databases

Example Search in SportDISCUS and Academic Search Complete

Last Updated: Apr 19, 2022 7:33 PM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/KSSPEresearch

Advanced Search Reminders

  • Use AND to combine different keywords.  
    • For example, school AND coaching
  • Use OR to combine synonyms or related terms
    • "high school" OR secondary
  • Double quotes: For phrases of 2 or more words:
    • “human resource management” will find those words next to each other, instead of anywhere on the page.
    • "exercise science"
  • To look for variations of a word, or to look for the singular and plural, use the*
    • Educ* will find education, plus educator, or educating or educate
  • Use Parentheses: separate synonyms from others.
    • ("high school" or secondary) and coaching

What's that Search for Full Text button?

Don't give up when you see thesearch for full text button image button!

You may be able to view the article in another database, or we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.

Saving searches and articles

If you want to save your articles in a database or create a way to save your search, use the guide below to see how to do it.