Skip to Main Content

PRO 306: Find Articles

4. Search Databases (PICOT strategy)

road with signposts. Search databases highlighted. other signposts greyed out: Look up articles, be persistent, cite.

The library subscribes to databases, online collections of journals and other media. You can use our databases to find the scholarly research articles you will need to do many of your research assignments.

About a PICO(T) Searching Strategy

When you are ready to research a topic, you can use a PICO(T) searching strategy. This is a strategy that will help you find the best evidence about your topic, using our library's databases.

Watch both of these videos to learn how to search for articles—whether it's articles about the benefits of a BSN degree, or finding the best evidence

Watch Video: "Create a PICO(T) Search Strategy to Find Articles in a Database"

You can watch this video to learn about how to create a search strategy that will help you find the best evidence for your topic.

Watch Video: "Search for Articles in CINAHL Complete"

You can watch this video to learn how to use the CINAHL Complete database to find articles.

 

Try It! Use a PICO(T) Search Strategy to Find Articles

First, create search terms you can use for your Professional Paper using the steps from the "Use a PICOT Search Strategy" video. You can use the PICO(T) Search Strategy Table Worksheet in the Resource Links.

Then, visit the CINAHL Complete database, and do your own search. You can also try using PubMed Central, another database recommended by the nursing faculty for this assignment.

Resource Links

Stop and Think

 Will you use the PICO(T) search strategy for future assignments? If you think you will, you can save a copy of the PICO(T) Search Strategy Table Worksheet to use in the future.

Next

Let's continue your research journey—5. Be Persistent

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2022 9:24 AM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/PRO306