Search two or more Databases at the same time
To do this, choose the drop down menu. The database in which you are seaching will already be checked (eg. Academic Search Premier).
Using the check boxes, select:
-
Academic Search Premier
- Historical Abstracts
Once you've selected the databases, scroll down the screen to look at the specific limiters for each database.
Click Submit and your screen will refresh. You are now searching several databases at once.
My EBSCO
"My EBSCOhost" is a feature of EBSCO databases that allows you to save your searches and articles for future access.
To sign up for this feature, click "Sign In to MY EBSCOhost", at the top right of the screen from any page within an EBSCOhost database.
JSTOR recently added a similar feature, called MyJSTOR.
Relevant Databases
- Academic Search CompleteA good starting point for research.
Includes many peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles. - Historical AbstractsIndexes articles and books on history outside the US, including the Middle East.
Links to full-text articles IF available; otherwise use interlibrary loan. - JSTORFull-text database but does NOT have current issues. All journals are scholarly but note that editorials etc. are included. Good source for classic history, anthropology and religion articles for example.
- Project Muse Humanities CollectionSimilar to JSTOR BUT has access to current issues of scholarly journals.
(Brockport does not have full-text access to all journals.) Many religion and literature titles. - Ethnic NewswatchBoth news and journal articles from publications by or about ethnic groups, including Middle Eastern groups. Many rather unique titles.
- GenderWatchExcellent source for articles from both journals and newspapers etc. on gender issues, gay and lesbian issues...
- Religion & Philosophy CollectionProvides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
What's that Search for Full Text button?
Don't give up when you see the
button!
You may be able to view the article in another database, or we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.
Print Indexes (in the Reference Section)
These indexes provide references to older publications and are not available online. They are in the "Reference Section" which is on the main floor of the library.
Readers’ guide to periodical literature.: (1905-1990, REF AI3.R48)
References to articles in popular journals and magazines.
You will need to search by topic in each volume of these indexes.
Write down the article and journal title you need.
Search the Journals and Newspapers Listing to see if we have the journal you need.
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/mideast