Welcome! You are looking at the best library resources for Sociology. If you need to research a different discipline, please take a look at some of our other Research Guides to get an idea of what is available.
Search a specific database
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Add Academic Search Complete from "Choose databases" for a more robust search of English-language social science journals. - Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new windowFull-text collection includes journals from many subject areas, including area studies, humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, environmental topics, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.
- SSRN eLibrary This link opens in a new windowIdentifies research articles in all areas of social science with some full text available.
- JSTORFull-text database but does NOT have current issues. All journals are scholarly but note that editorials etc. are included. Good source for classic history, anthropology and religion articles for example.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. 1990- current.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Coverage is from 1970-present.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text article database for religion and philosophy. Not as comprehensive as Philosopher's Index.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database containing nearly 5,700 journals, this scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Provided by SUNYConnect. - Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research.
- CQ ResearcherHas reports that focus on a single topic and features concise background discussion and chronologies, overviews of the current situation, pro and con commentary, as well as links to related organizations and a bibliography of related books and articles.
Sociology Journals
What journals are available?
Drake library offers over a hundred different sociology based journals. The titles ranges from the universal, American Journal of Sociology, to the more specialized, International Review of the Aesthetics & Sociology of Music.
How do I locate journals online?
The Drake library search will allow you to search for journals by a specific title or by a topic. Enter the journal name or the subject, such as sociology, then use the Filter/Sort button to narrow your search to journals. From the search results page you may select a journal then search directly within that journal.
How to tell if an article or journal is peer reviewed?
This video, Locating and Verifying Peer Reviewed Materials, will help you identify peer reviewed articles.
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/sociology
