Welcome! You are looking at the best library resources for Nursing. If you need to research in a different discipline, please look through the list of our other Research Guides.
Search a database for specific articles.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research database for nursing and allied health professionals. This is an upgrade from CINAHL Complete.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMajor database for research in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and much more. Includes content from the free online database PubMed.
- PubMedAn open access database of biomedical abstracts. The full text for many of these abstracts is available in MEDLINE or PubMed Central.
- Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new windowCochrane Collection Plus combines the most comprehensive databases from the Cochrane Library, a key resource in evidence-based medicine. This includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the leading source of peer-reviewed systematic reviews in healthcare. All databases in Cochrane Collection Plus are published by Wiley & Sons, Ltd.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowThe first time you access this resource, you will need to set up an account. Visit this link every 90 days or more to retain access. You can download the mobile app after you've set up your account with this link.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers full text access to over 200 peer-reviewed journals covering scientific, medical, and technical information. Includes arts & humanities, and social sciences.
- Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowCovers nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
- Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new windowFull-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information.
- Alt-Health Watch This link opens in a new windowContains some full text for complementary, alternative, and holistic health care. Not everything is peer reviewed.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA full text database containing nearly 5,700 journals, this scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Provided by SUNYConnect.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use database for serious academic research. Provided by NOVEL NY.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive database for psychology and related disciplines. Includes content from PyscARTICLES and PsycCRITIQUES. Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2,200 periodicals in more than 25 languages. 1887- current.
Library Search contains books, articles, videos and more. This is the same search box from the library home page:
What's that Search for Full Text button?
Don't give up when you see the
button!
You may be able to view the article in another database, or we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.
Advanced Search Reminders
- Use AND to combine different keywords.
- For example, school AND coaching
- Use OR to combine synonyms or related terms
- "high school" OR secondary
- Double quotes: For phrases of 2 or more words:
- “human resource management” will find those words next to each other, instead of anywhere on the page.
- "exercise science"
- To look for variations of a word, or to look for the singular and plural, use the*
- Educ* will find education, plus educator, or educating or educate
- Use Parentheses: separate synonyms from others.
- ("high school" or secondary) and coaching
Your Librarian, Dr. Logan Rath
STAT!Ref Nursing eBooks
STAT!Ref Nursing E-Books A collection of 25 nursing resources including reference works, test preparation and instructional videos. You must click "I accept" at the first page to acknowledge the end-user agreement to get to the STAT!Ref site.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowContains BoardVitals, ebooks, full text articles, journals and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources in the health care and medical disciplines.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2024 1:44 PM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/nur651
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/nur651