Historical Images Databases
- Newspaper NavigatorThe public can now explore more than 1.5 million historical newspaper images online and free of charge. The latest machine learning experience from Library of Congress Labs, Newspaper Navigator allows users to search visual content in American newspapers dating 1789-1963.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionDigitized collections from the Library of Congress. Materials Indexed: Artworks, Audio, Government Documents, Images, Magazine Articles, Maps, Music Recordings, Pamphlets, Photographs, Primary Sources
- Digital ScriptoriumImages of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.
- JCB Archive of Early American ImagesA database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionFocus on rare 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic history materials. Includes historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa
- Wellcome LibraryMost of the works were acquired between 1890 and 1936 by Sir Henry Wellcome and his agents across the globe. The images reflect Wellcome’s collecting interests and were intended to form a documentary resource that reflects the cultural and historical contexts of health and medicine.
Art Images Databases
- Smithsonian Archive of American ArtThe image and media gallery contains over 10,000 individually described materials ranging from documents and photographs to sound and video recordings.
- Google Arts & CultureGoogle Arts & Culture is a non-profit partnership between Google and cultural institutions and artists around the world. The mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online
- The Frick Collection: Digital PhotoarchiveThe Photoarchive has embarked on digitizing the entire collection. At present, high-resolution images and metadata are available for more than 300,000 works of art through Frick Digital Collections. New images are released on a regular basis.
Last Updated: Mar 20, 2023 11:39 AM