What is a "database?"
A database is an organized collection of computer records.
In a library or research database each record matches an article in a newspaper, magazine or journal; a book; a DVD; etc.. The records found in these library databases contain the same information as "citations."
The full-text for the article is not always available online; sometimes you might have to look for the print copy or request the article from interlibrary loan.
- What is a library database video?A fun link to a full description of a library database.
(RMIT University)
Databases for finding articles
The library provides access to over 100 different databases to help you find articles.
Start with Academic Search Complete or Academic OneFile, databases that cover the most subject areas and have both full-text scholarly and popular articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowOne of our largest databases with a search screen common to over 50 databases.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use database for serious academic research. Provided by NOVEL NY.
- Find Articles webpageUse to locate databases by:
Subject
Alphabetical order
General interest when you are not sure where to start.
If you have a citation and need to find it...
- Article Lookup by CitationHave the citation? Plug in what you know about the article and this tool will search our databases for a full text electronic copy.
- Journal and Newspaper Listing (Alphabetical)Takes you directly to the listing where you can put in the TITLE of the JOURNAL you are searching for.
Last Updated: Feb 29, 2024 2:10 PM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/research
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/research