What is a Peer-reviewed (Refereed) Article?
A peer-reviewed article is one that has been reviewed by a body of “peers:” experts in the same field as the writer.
They are sometimes called “refereed” and are published in scholarly or academic journals.
There are examples of refereed articles on this page, as well as a list of specific journal titles that your professor provided. Start with one of those titles if you want to be sure you have a refereed journal.
How to tell if an article is peer-reviewed
| Criteria | Peer-Reviewed / Scholarly | Popular / General |
|---|---|---|
| Length or Appearance of Source |
Lengthy, in depth. Often includes tables, graphs, statistics. Serious appearance, not heavily graphic. Generally includes abstract and citation list. Purpose of the articles is usually to present original research or experiments. |
Shorter, overview-type articles. Popular style.
Does not usually include abstract or citation list. Includes many advertisements aimed at a general audience. Purpose of the articles is more to entertain. |
| Author or Editor |
Scholars, experts. Credentials often included (PhD, MD, MPH, etc.) Peer reviewed, refereed or juried: critically evaluated by a knowledge panel of experts. |
Reporters, staff writers.
Credentials not usually included. Reviewed by the editorial staff, not subject experts. Articles are sometimes unsigned. |
| Title | Includes words like: review, journal, research, quarterly, studies, transactions, proceedings, archives. | Often includes the word magazine. |
| Language | Technical, likely to include the jargon of the field. Assumes some background knowledge from the reader. | Non-technical, accessible by broad audience |
| Article Structure | Traditional structure usually requires: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, references | No specific structure. |
| Audience | Professors, researchers, professionals, experts, students; people who are already interested in the topic. | General public, trying to attract an audience. |
| Examples |
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) The Political Quarterly |
National Geographic Time Magazine |
Limit titles to Anthropology in JSTOR
An example of a search in JSTOR for ethnography and Amish and Modernization, limited to Anthropology journals only. Scroll all the way down to see the full example.
Relevant Journal Titles
To see what journals the library has, in print or full-text, use the Journals tab on the main page.
For a list of journals available in print or online through the library:
Titles containing the words "anthropology," "anthropological," "anthropologist," etc.
The following list is a sample of titles and their availability:
- American AnthropologistJSTOR has full-text back to 1888.
- American EthnologistJSTOR has full text back to 1974.
Ebscohost has 1997 to the present. - Visual Anthropology ReviewWe have the print version back to 1991. You can ask for it through interlibrary loan and we will scan the articles you need.
Ebscohost has the full-text from 1997 to the present.
Academic Search Complete will have references to articles in this title. - List of all Anthropology Journals in JSTORThis link will take you to a list of all anthropology journals in JSTOR.
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/anthro