Overview
This guide will assist CSTEP/McNair Scholars in searching and finding appropriate scholarly sources for research, and additional library resources and services.
Program Outcomes
- Be knowledgeable about career choices and graduate school opportunities.
- Be knowledgeable about graduate school funding opportunities and prepared to take advantage of them.
- Have the skills to achieve admission to the graduate school of their choice and to succeed in their pursuit of an advanced degree.
Databases
Feel free to use the following library databases to find out more about your topic. If you would prefer to use a different database, try using our Research Guides by subject list.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A full text database containing nearly 5,700 journals, this scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study. Provided by SUNYConnect. - Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use database for serious academic research. Provided by NOVEL NY. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. 1990- current.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Coverage is from 1970-present.
These databases are good STARTING points. If you need help choosing a topic or just want to see some possible ideas, you can try these.
- CQ Researcher
Has reports that focus on a single topic and features concise background discussion and chronologies, overviews of the current situation, pro and con commentary, as well as links to related organizations and a bibliography of related books and articles.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Covers many topics and contains reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/mcnairprogram
