Library Instruction For: SWO 411: Overview
Services: 1-on-1 training and/or research assistance
Small group training and/or research assistance
Library’s Web Page: www.brockport.edu/library
History and Policy:
- Academic Search Complete
- America History and Life
- Social Sciences
- Google Scholar
- Gail Virtual Reference Library
- Encyclopedia Britannica
- Opposing Viewpoints
- Congressional Budget Office The CBO provides objective, nonpartisan economic analyses of pending legislation. Under Publications, you can browse by subject.
- Government Accountability Office The GAO supports the work of Congress by performing audits and evaluations of government programs and activities. See the Reports and Testimonies tab.
- Statista – Statistics portal located in library databases
- Brookings Institute One of the oldest think tanks in the United States, an independent, nonpartisan organization that focuses on research and analysis of economic, foreign, and social policy issues.
- Center for the Study of Social Policy
- Poverty Solution
background or history; trends; population; participating factors; affecting; legislation; budget; inception; impact; United States;
- To search a phrase use quotation marks. For example: “adoptive parents”
- To search a word, with variable endings, use the truncation mark *. For example: oppress*…this will search: oppress, oppressed, oppresses, oppression.
- To find additional search terms, click on the title link, you’ll see additional subject terms provided by the database and/or the article’s author.
- - This symbol lets you know that the article is not full-text in the database you are searching in…
However, it does offer you a few options:
- The article may be full-text in another database the library has.
- The library may own the hard copy journal – if so, just order it through the InterLibrary Loan form online
- The library doesn’t have the article full-text through the databases or in hard copy – the InterLibrary Loan office can get you a copy of the article for free and they will send it to your email address.
- References at the end of an article may also be good articles to look at in your search.
Evaluating Social Policy:
Description of the problem/human need that necessitated the policy
Defines the problem based on facts about the population(s) affected nationally and at a state-level (if applicable), causes of the problem, and changes over time.
Description of the policy
Describes how the current selected policy operates within the selected state or federal arena. Articulates, the policy goals, who is covered by the policy, how administered, funding/resources for the policy, and how effectiveness is determined.
Historical background of the policy
Describes the legislative history of the policy and how it has changed over time.
Policy Analysis: Goals
Describes whether the goals of the policy contribute to greater social equality; contributes to a better quality of life for the target population/society, and is consistent with social work values. Does the policy make a difference?
Policy Analysis: Political Aspects
Describe the support/opposition to the policy, public opinion, and if social values are threatened. Discuss how to advocate for the policy to those who oppose it.
Policy Analysis: Implementation Factors
Describe the likelihood of the policy achieving its goals, side effects/social problems, alternative policies and barriers.