Skip to main content

Library Self-Help & How-to

Link to New (draft) help guide

Advanced Search Reminders

Use AND to combine different keywords.  

  • For example, minorities AND coaching

Use OR to search for any one of several words. You can do this to combine synonyms.

  • For example, race OR ethnicity OR minorit*

To look for an exact phrase, use quotation marks.

  • For example, “human resource management” will find that phrase exactly as it appears, with all three words, in that order.

To look for variations of a word, or to look for the singular and plural, use an asterisk (*).

  • For example, if you enter a search for minor* you will find results that contain these words: minority, minorities, minor, and minors

Use parentheses to separate synonyms.

  • For example, (race OR ethnicity) and coaching

Did you know?

Did you know that you can search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time?

To do this, click on "Choose Databases" link above the search boxes. The database in which you are seaching will already be checked (eg. Academic Search Complete).

Using the check boxes, select:

  • Humanities Source

Once you've selected all the databases you would like to search, scroll down the screen and click OK.

At this point your screen will refresh and the name of your original database will be followed by "Show all." You are now searching multiple databases at once.

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2019 10:27 AM
URL: https://library.brockport.edu/gender

What's that Search for Full-text button?

Don't give up when you see the    search for full text button imagebutton!

You may be able to view the article in another database, or we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery.

Visit this page for more detailed information.

My EBSCO

My EBSCOhost is a feature of EBSCO databases that allows you to save your searches and articles for future access. To sign up for this feature, click "Sign In to MY EBSCOhost", at the top right of the screen from any page within an EBSCOhost database.

Close mobile nav